Menu

Here I go again....I really love TOG!

HSMom2One

My dd and I completed Unit 1 of Yr. 1 last week, and we are now on to the next unit. I wanted to share this post with the Hive because I'd like to encourage others that may be considering using TOG at some point. I heard about this amazing curriculum here on TWTM forum, as there is a large number of TOG families here.

When we first started TOG I had some mixed feelings -- both excitement and nervousness. To be honest, I wasn't sure if I had what it would take to be a good teacher using the curriculum. I'm a college graduate with a fairly high GPA, but because I see Marcia Somerville and the developers of TOG as VERY smart people, I have to admit that I had a fear of failure. Little did I know that my fears were not necessary.

The good news is that TOG is quite user friendly and easy to use. It took me a short time to develop an ability to gauge the right amount of information to cover each week and adjust everything to the right pace. Once we got that down, however, it started to be a breeze. Once we realized that we could move along faster or slow down if we wanted to, it made all the difference in the world.

As for the curriculum itself:

I love, love, love the Teacher's Notes! Not only are they useful for me in teaching, but I am learning right along with my dd quite often. It took a week or two to get the hang of the way they are laid out, but once that happened it opened up a whole new perspective for me.

We have found that the amount of reading for UG is very realistic for my dd to handle. In fact, we are adding SWB's SOTW from the alternate reading list to our regular list, and it has been perfect. I had never used SOTW before, and as I read along with dd, I am so impressed. I love SOTW!!