Menu

New to Homeschooling taking the plunge.

MamaCass

Hi,

I am new to homeschooling and recently decided to just take the leap and pull my first grader out of public school and enroll him into the Idaho virtual Academy K12. I hope I am doing the right thing because according to his teacher he is behind. He took his first State test the Idaho reading indicator a few months ago and tested at six month of Kindergarten level. I was shocked and so disappointed in the level of education he is receiving.

I need help finding a good Bible curricula for him and my other two kiddos. They 10 and 4. Also will I need to supplement the phonics program I have seen some mixed reviews.

Thanx for your help,

Cass

Congratulations on your decision, it can be scary at first maybe even overwhelming, but well worth it.

My oldest is only 6, plus I have a 2 and 3 yr old. For my first grader we have been using the Ordinary Parents Guide to Teaching Reading, I have really liked it and so has my son (the important part). My son has been reading the Beginners Bible for reading and has been doing great with it. Some names are hard, but it has been good for him. I am using a lot of things from sonlight, which is also where I got the bible things I use. We are using the Sing the Word CD for memory verses and also Leading Little ones to God.

Hope this helps.

allyson

I

Welcome!

Look around here. There is a ton of info.

For phonics there are so many programs. Ordinary Parents Guide is good. I found it in my library so yours may have it.

I use and like ABeCeDarian. It has helped my son a lot.

For Bible there are a lot of programs. Son Light and Heart of Dakota are two I can think off the top of my head.

Welcome Cass! I am new to hs too. My advice? Pull up a chair, grab a cup of coffee and read, read, read these boards. Use "search" often!

There are plenty of Bible curricula out there. I don't use any, so I have no advice, but I am sure you'll get lots of ideas.