Menu

Do I need a lit program (7th grade)?

lisabees

Okay, so I'm new to hs. I am tweaking some things. I find that I am much happier when following a more laid out program. I have changed from history and science texts to OM and I am thrilled! So is ds13.

DS reads on a sixth grade level. Just a few months ago, he was reading at a fourth grade level. While he is finally happy to read his own books in the evening, I read aloud most of our literature books. We have read From the Mixed Up Files... and Mrs. Frisby... I have used Garlic Press and Glencoe lit guides for these. We have also listened to Beowulf, Celtic myths and Story of the Middle Ages.

Now, I am confused. For history, I wanted to read King Arthur; Catherine, Called Birdy, Crispin etc. I also want to read Where the Red Fern Grows, Island of the Blue Dolphins, the Giver etc.

Do you all have two books going at once? For some it might be fine. I wonder if it would be overload for my son. I was going to use individual lit guides for each, but now I am thinking I need the plan already laid out for me, in which case I would have to use the required books. It would also be easier to cover short stories and poetry and literary elements if laid out for me.

We are using IEW SWI for writing. I use Spelling Morphographs and Megawords for spelling. We will be starting Vocab from Classical Roots and Easy Grammar soon.

So, do I need a lit program (secular, like Lightning Lit) or should I keep it all separate?

My goal this year is to get ds to enjoy reading and feel confident doing so.

Aaaahh! I am confusing myself with my disjointed thoughts. If you have gotten this far, thank you!

Edited by lisabees

While he is finally happy to read his own books in the evening, I read aloud most of our literature books. We have read From the Mixed Up Files... and Mrs. Frisby... I have used Garlic Press and Glencoe lit guides for these. We have also listened to Beowulf, Celtic myths and Story of the Middle Ages.