Menu

Does anyone know what this is (with my fridge)?

Three refrigerators in my kitchens have now had this problem. It has to be my own ignorance causing it. I never took an appliance care class. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.

First, the fridge gets wet. Water is dripping off the interior ceiling of it, and the shelves are always wet.

Then, the freezer gets super super cold. Things are painfully, horribly frozen.

Finally, the fridge just stops keeping things cold altogether.

No adjusting the stat makes anything change.

I just bought this fridge a couple of years ago. I like it. It's pretty. And big. What am I doing wrong?

Have you cleaned out the drip pan thingy under the fridge (I sound like an expert, huh? "thingy")?

Also, if you pull out the drawers (on most fridges anyway), there's a collection well type thingamajig (must more expert-like ;) ), sometimes that gets stopped up.

Sounds like an air flow problem to me :) Obviously I'm an expert, but you could take a gander and see if those things are clogged... if you've never done this they could be stomach turning (just fyi).

We owned an appliance business ten years ago; I'll ask dh as soon as he's available.

What brand? Side by side or freezer on top/bottom? Ice maker or no? On an exterior wall or an interior wall? How many pets do you have and do they shed? Any possibility your floors are exceptionally uneven?

Those are all questions he'll ask. :)

Three refrigerators in my kitchens have now had this problem. It has to be my own ignorance causing it. I never took an appliance care class. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.

First, the fridge gets wet. Water is dripping off the interior ceiling of it, and the shelves are always wet.

Then, the freezer gets super super cold. Things are painfully, horribly frozen.

Finally, the fridge just stops keeping things cold altogether.

No adjusting the stat makes anything change.