Menu

LA options for Kindergarten questions

Guest SaraK

I'm new to homeschooling at to this site, so please excuse any errors in protocol. I'm debating what to use for LA for my son (5). I'm considering Winter Promise or American Language Series. I think he will do best learning phonics "vertically" (I think that's what it is where you learn "a" has 3 sound rather than learning the short vowels, etc.). Does anyone have any experience with either program or have a suggestion for some other program I should try? Thanks!

Guest Cindie2dds
I'm new to homeschooling at to this site, so please excuse any errors in protocol. I'm debating what to use for LA for my son (5). I'm considering Winter Promise or American Language Series. I think he will do best learning phonics "vertically" (I think that's what it is where you learn "a" has 3 sound rather than learning the short vowels, etc.). Does anyone have any experience with either program or have a suggestion for some other program I should try? Thanks!

You will probably get a lot of advice on when and how to start Language Arts here. Are you looking for copywork, just teaching him to read? It depends what you are looking for. I would go to http://www.starfall.com and http://www.progressivephonics.com since they are both fun, free websites for beginning readers. Unless your son is vastly different from other 5 year old boys, I would stay away from a formal Language Arts program until his fine motor skills develop. If you feel you have to do something "written," check out Explode the Code Primers, Rod & Staff Preschool A - G workbooks, and Sandi Queen's Language Lessons.

HTH!