Menu

Help me with some English syntax

My daughter had to come up with a sentence from a bunch of mixed up words. This is grade 3.

The words were

holidays summer finally here are

She came up with

Finally summer holidays are here.

The solution has

Summer holidays are finally here.

I'm pretty sure her answer is valid too. I would have written it that way myself. It's grammatically correct. But would an English speaking child tend to say it the way the solution has it?

I'm not a grammar expert, but-

My kids would most likely say "Summer holidays are finally here".

I think the first version, when written, should have a comma after Finally-

Finally, summer holidays are here.

But I would think that either answer is fine.

As the other posters said, both are correct, and you would need something after that first finally. However, I wouldn't add that huge sigh after the first finally ;)--that depends on the speaker. I might do it more adamantly, depending on my mood (my old theatre roots coming out here. The first assignment I aced in university was taking one dramatic scens and writing it so that the same scene with the very same words could be played very differently.)