Menu

S/O: Best Resources for Teacher Education

edeemarie

After reading several threads on teacher education, I am wondering what you considering to be the best resources for educating the teacher in how to teach effectively- books, websites, seminars, anything! I keep feeling myself drawn to pre-written curricula because I worry I will somehow mess things up. For example, I keep coming back to thinking I need to use something like TOG because I won't be able to come up with the type of questions and discussions they have. But I really don't want to be completely tied to what someone else thinks I should teach or ask. So what can I get that will teach me how to teach? Oddly enough my degree is in Education, but I still don't fell like it truly prepared me in how to teach.:glare:

I know you don't want to hear it's different for everyone, but...it is :tongue_smilie:

For ME, I gravitate towards teacher education that will help me provide a very narrow curriculum, in a step by step, and explicit fashion. I'm totally OCD and almost robotic. Trying to drag underprepared students, or an underprepared self, through a keep up with the Jonses curriculum, is just torture for me.

What are your resources and challenges? What are your strengths? What are your weaknesses? What are your quirks? What is your worldview? What type of students are you expecting to be teaching? What education after you, are you preparing them for?

Who do you like to read here? Who annoys you to read? :lol: Seriously, that will give you a clue on some teacher education books you might like, or not like?