Menu

Magnet School

I have been homeschooling my two boys (six and eight) for two years now. I feel that they are not being challenged enough in science and math. I have thought about entering them both in a magnet school which has a good science and math program. Does anyone have any experiences with magnet schools in Florida? They are essentially a public school with more programs for science and math. I have already purchased my curriculum for next year but I think I want to try the magnet school. I would love some opinions and advice on magnet schools.

Thanks in advance

Kathy

I went to magnet schools in Houston. One nice thing is that anyone who was a behavior problem or didn't keep their grades up, got kicked out. That meant that the kids who really wanted to learn could do so.

I have no idea if they still work that way today.

I attended a magnet school in California from 4th - 12th grades. My school had a performing arts program (no sports, just drama/visual arts/music/dance). There were good things (the programs I participated in) and bad things (it was an hour away, so I spent 2 hours on a bus every school day).

Where I was, the magnet school programs were designed to help racially integrate the city. The magnet schools were always placed in a minority neighborhood, in a poorer part of the city. Crime rates around the school were much higher than the community in which I lived. We were pretty safe on campus, but outside was a little scary. My brother got mugged once while he was running around the field in PE. The school went into lock down once when cops were chasing a drug dealer and he ran onto campus. I'd caution you to investigate the surrounding neighborhood. :)

Academics at my school were so-so, on par with other public schools I would think. If you can, you might want to talk to parents of children attending this school to get a better understanding of what it's like.