Menu

Taking your medical situation into your own hands..... What would you do?

Here's the deal:

(Preface--I am a registered nurse, so I'm not an ignoramus when it comes to healthcare.)

I saw my family physician in Oct. '07 for my yearly pap. At that time, he told me that I did not need to see him but every two years because I had had a complete hysterectomy in Sept. '05. I have been on Premarin 1.25 mg since then. He told me that I would stay on Premarin until Oct. '09 and then go off of it.

My Rx ran out (it's only good for a year), and I contacted my MD to have it refilled for the following year. The nurse I talked with said that I don't need a pap but every two years like the MD said but that I do have to be seen for any problems. I don't have any known problems and doubt he would find any if I saw him considering he will not do a pap and I do my self-exams, etc, and there is never any blood work done.

Now, I don't like having to see the MD just for an Rx (the visit will cost ~$100). If he is going to take me off Premarin anyway in a few months, what's the real benefit of a few more month's worth of Premarin-coverage. I know that it is thought to be preventative to some degree, but what is the real worth?

I really get incensed at basically being at the mercy of insurance companies who are controlling healthcare. I don't see an MD unless I have a problem; I don't go when I'm healthy.

What are your thoughts? Mine are kind of bent out of shape, so "in the multitude of counselors, there is wisdom."

Thanks!

Janie,

I'd call and leave a message for your doctor to call you. When he calls, I'd ask him to give you a refill on the Rx to last until Oct., and ask him when, and how often, he wants to see you.

I do think the biannual exam is a good idea. Just in case.

Ria

I would call the office again and ask to have your doctor call you back "regarding questions about a prescription" and speak to him directly.