Menu

Explode the Code with All About Spelling (1st grader)?

JaiMama

Would it be overkill to do Explode the Code (would start with book 2) with All About Spelling for a first grader? I am new to homeschooling (have only done kindergarten so far) and I’m trying to figure out Language Arts for the fall. (I also plan to use Handwriting without Tears and Voyages in English for grammar). Thank you. 

46 minutes ago, knitgrl said:

I see no need to add anything to AAS. I've only done ETC with dd because she is a worksheet lover. Once she starts AAS next year, we will be dropping ETC.

Do you recommend AAS over ETC?  If so, why?

To me, those resources are for very different stages.

My kids go through the ETC books, but book 2 is for when they are brand new, emergent readers just learning phonics. I would never start AAS (which I LOVE) with a child who is still in ETC 2. IMO, ETC has plenty of very, very early spelling practice for that stage.

I don't necessarily wait until my kids have made it through all the ETC books to start AAS. (Realistically, none of them have made it through all 8 ETC books because their reading took off like gang busters at some point and the remaining ETC books were pointless.) But I do wait until they are solid readers - fluently able to read consonant blends and digraphs, silent e words, many vowel teams.

They reached this level around ETC 4, but I still delayed AAS for at least another 6ish months because they just weren't ready - not for the handwriting, the additional school time, the jump up in spelling-rule complexity (AAS starts slow, but ramps up pretty quickly).

My youngest will be starting AAS in the fall...an entire year after she was in ETC 2.

I do phonics, then spelling.  Only one at a time.  There are programs that combine the two, but even then, it's one program, not two that come at it from different angles. 

For us, 1st grade would look more like this:
Phonics (if still necessary)
Reading (at an appropriate level)