Menu

Making a schedule/curriculm

I'm new to this concept of Afterschooling, and in a way this is really a trial year for me.  Our daughter won't be old enough to attend preschool this fall (doesn't make the 4 year old cut-off date), but I want to start preschooling her at home.  Both of us work full-time jobs, so my opportunities for teaching her are after I pick her up at 5:30pm and on weekends.  That'll change a little bit next fall since preschool gets out at 2:30pm, but I still have to work from home till 5:00pm.

I have my overwhelming list of things that I'd like to supplement teaching to her that isn't taught in schools or isn't covered thoroughly, but most of those things aren't preschool topics (you can't learn cursive in preschool).

I'm a little overwhelmed by all the resources and curriculums out there. We're not exactly doing full-blown homeschooling and I need to keep my expectations modest of what she can tolerate after she gets home from daycare.  I guess I'm looking for advice from other parents in similar situations.

How much time do you invest in afterschooling each day and how much time on weekends?

Do you balance literacy and math during the week or focus on only one of those each week?

I'm a planner and a detail oriented person, so I'm not very good at winging it based on what sounds good by the week.  I hope some of you can relate :)

Honestly? The best thing you can do for her at this age is to just nurture creativity and pretend play, read as many books as she'll sit for, take her outdoors to explore (even in winter!) do puzzles, and provide materials for coloring/painting and other crafts. Take outings to zoos, playgrounds, any museums for young kids. Have fun and enjoy each other!! (I wish I could go back, it is such a fun age!)