Menu

About studying Latin ahead of your kids...

mo2

My dd won't start Latin for at least a couple of years yet (she's struggling with learning to read, so to avoid any unnecessary stress/confusion, we're putting Latin off for awhile). I want to go ahead and get a jump on this, as I have no Latin background whatsoever. I don't know what program I intend to use with dd, but I'm leaning towards Lively Latin or Latin Prep. (We're secular.) Does anyone have any recommendations on programs for ME, so I can go ahead and start learning Latin myself? Remember, I need to start from the absolute beginning!

Thanks.

My dd won't start Latin for at least a couple of years yet (she's struggling with learning to read, so to avoid any unnecessary stress/confusion, we're putting Latin off for awhile). I want to go ahead and get a jump on this, as I have no Latin background whatsoever. I don't know what program I intend to use with dd, but I'm leaning towards Lively Latin or Latin Prep. (We're secular.) Does anyone have any recommendations on programs for ME, so I can go ahead and start learning Latin myself? Remember, I need to start from the absolute beginning!

Thanks.

The pace is reasonable but not insultingly slow. I don't know anything about Lively Latin. On the other hand, you could just learn alongside her when the time comes.

Laura

We started with Prima Latina. If you go ahead now, you might get pretty bored explaining the basics... kinda like teaching that third child how to read! Also, most people learn best as they are explaining to someone else.

If I had little ones again and had extra time on my hands, I would spend it catching up on great literature (and making a few notes as you go.) Now that they are older, I can't keep up with their reading.

Because I was thinking, "Oh, yeah, - I just learn along with them." (Maybe a week to six weeks ahead of dc, but not years!)