Menu

Resume Questions

Just Kate

DH is working on updating his resume due to adding a huge certification and because he has a few companies that have requested to see it. I'm not good at resumes, but I am attempting to help him.

He has been in his current industry for abut 6 years, but he has accomplished quite a bit in that time. Prior to this industry, he worked at a bank (branch manager) and a few different sales jobs. I would like his resume to focus on his current field and not take up so much time on the previous stuff. Not sure exactly how to do that though.

Anyone who is great at resumes open to helping? :)

• Like 1

If you do it chronilogically present going back, it should do that.

Put all of the bullet points on stuff he's accomplished in his current field under the job titles.

* Lead a $3MM project to do xyz

* Achieved 57% in improved whatever

* Initially managed three direct reports, increased to five, after 18 months

etc.

For the other stuff, just list dates...so    6/1990-6/1995    Bank Manager, Bank of America    Fancy City, NY

YOu can go to LinkedIn and look at jobs he'd like to have, and see how people who have that job format things. :)  Look at a few to get an idea.

Edited by umsami
  • Like 1