Menu

I need schedule suggestions for using AAS, WWE, FLL & OPGTR together

jens2sons

I just put my AAS kit together and we are ready to go!  Now what?!  Lol.  I have been using WWE1, FLL1, and OPGTR 5 days a week and it has been going smoothly.  Now that I am adding in AAS, how would you suggest I change my schedule?  Or should I just add it to our daily routine?  

I haven't used OPGTR, so I'm not sure where the overlap would be there, but I just added AAS on top of FLL and WWE.  They're very different, AAS is phonemes, FLL is grammar (and some overlap with narration) and WWE is copywork and narration.

AAS at first is VERY easy, just some review of phoneme cards, mostly.

I'm no expert but shouldn't you wait to start spelling until after phonics instruction is completed? Possibly even waiting a short while after phonics to get reading more proficient? By short while I mean, say it takes all of Kindergarten to do phonics, if you take a summer break, take the summer to really get your child's reading confidence and prociency up over the summer, and then start spelling instruction at the start of 1st grade in the Fall. If that period of time seems too long, it could be shortened, or if the child is proficient sooner, then move into spelling. Idk. It just seems counter-intuitive to move on to spelling, when the child may not be done with phonics.