Menu

School Composition and Writing in English

Ds12 is struggling with WWS2. He is doing Lesson 13 now. Ds10 is finishing up W&R Book 4.

I have Jump In! and Lively Art of Writing. I also heard good things about the google books School Composition and Writing in English. I would like some ideas what each ds should use and how long each approach will take. I am not good at teaching writing and really use some help. Thank you!!!

Not sure this specific enough to help, but after burning through far too many books, curricula, and approaches, I have been using Maxwell's School Composition with my 7th grader, a reluctant though decent writer. After about a month with SC, I can say it is a huge success here. She is finally writing and not hating it, and her fluency and voice are really developing.

The models are beautiful, the lessons are short, sweet, and to the point, and the exercises are relevant, specific, easy to understand, with enough freedom to allow the writer to shine through but enough direction to make her feel she has something she wants to...and can...say.

https://archive.org/details/schoolcompositi00johngoog

It's very dated, but imo truly an oldie-goodie. Public domain, so you can download for free at this web site or buy a reprinted copy if you decide you want it in paper. We used it on the ipad for a few weeks and then ordered a much nicer hard copy when we liked it so well.

You'll find a few discussions of this book and his Writing in English if you search the forums.

• 3 weeks later...

https://archive.org/details/schoolcompositi00johngoog

It's very dated, but imo truly an oldie-goodie. Public domain, so you can download for free at this web site or buy a reprinted copy if you decide you want it in paper. We used it on the ipad for a few weeks and then ordered a much nicer hard copy when we liked it so well.

You'll find a few discussions of this book and his Writing in English if you search the forums.

Where did you buy your hard copy? Thanks!