Menu

Motivate me to teach a foreign language

My DD 6 is really interested in other cultures and languages and when I used an English vocabulary word yesterday that she had never heard before, she asked if it was a Spanish word! She has asked to learn Spanish in the past, but I've never been able to persevere and do it.

DH would like me to teach a foreign language, said it has brain benefits, but isn't the kind of "principal" to demand that I teach anything so it's kind of left up to me...he said he didn't care what language I taught, he learned Latin and French in school. I kind of feel like I should be teaching some language as well, but I feel obligated to teach Spanish (which is what I studied in high school and we live in an area with a relatively high hispanic population.) and there are so many cheap resources for that, but we don't do video lessons well here, so trying the video lessons I have free just sounds like drudgery to me so I do nothing.

I was going to start Latin at about 3rd grade but that's more for vocabulary building than cultural awareness, in my opinion, My mom's opinion was that everyone should just learn English and then no one has to learn another language. Which kind of makes me want to teach another language, just because her opinion seems so egocentric. 

What language would you teach? And what simple "get 'er done" program would you suggest that doesn't require me to turn on the tv??

What language does your dd want to learn? I'd expose her to some of the options and ask her. If she's a good reader, Duolingo would be a good free option to try. My oldest started with little Spanish classes in the afternoon after her CC program. She's since decides to switch to French because "it's pretty." Whatever. Using free resources for it this far and if she invests herself in doing consistent independent work with it most days, I told her we'd then consider an in-person French class (her preferential learning style).