Menu

2nd Grade Reading

kbradfie

This is my first year homeschooling my 7 year old son, who is in 2nd grade. He is a good reader, but does have some comprehension issues. He loves to read comic books and if it isn't a comic book he loves to read beginning reader books that are about Star Wars. When we go to the library he wants to check out the same books over and over. I am trying to get him to branch out and try new things, but it has been like pulling teeth! I offer him many, many choices, all of which are fun, imaginative stories that seem up his alley, but because it isn't something he is familiar with he turns his nose up. I should probably mention that he has high functioning autism, so this may be part of the reason he is so set on certain things. I still allow him to check out one or two previously read books, so he isn't being completely cut off from them. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get him reading new things?

I have another question as well regarding written reading summaries. Once or twice a week I have my son write a short summary about the book from his assigned reading time during homeschool. Is this enough for now, or should I have him write summaries from some of his free reading time books as well? I have been hesitant to do this because we are also using Writing With Ease and Story of the World which give him lots of writing summary opportunities as well.

My son is in second. What I do is have daily assigned reading where he sits and reads from a book I choose for 20-30 minutes. At night or whenever else he desires, he can read the books he chooses.

As for summaries, I have him narrate or write a summary or review for most of the books I assign, but never his free choice books. I am probably a bit too relaxed about his writing, though, as it's his least favorite subject.