Menu

Oy! Totally meshes with a book Chrysalis Academy mentioned she was reading, so I picked up the older edition at my library. Anyway, . . . 

This year, dd#1 has been reading multiple sources about something that happened in history - or a person in history. Usually, they have different perspectives - so we talk a lot about bias & knowing your source. Then, I ask her to write a a paragraphs to summarize the event or person and then sometimes she has to write her answer to a controversial question. Like, Attila the Hun leaving Rome - Which account is probably closer to the truth? Back it up with quotes from your sources. Or, was Pope Innocent III good or bad? Would France have been better off without Cardinal Richlieu?  Would Europe have been better off?

Dd#2 has mostly been doing WTM-style summaries from the (white) Kingfisher.

I'm not good at writing across the curriculum yet, but I'm hoping to improve next year!

This was an interesting article- here are some thoughts...

Writing Across the Curriculum at the university level- great idea, but I don't think it's a new idea.  I wrote across the curriculum my junior and senior years of high school (AP classes had the most writing, because AP exams had essays, including the science exams) and all through university.  I don't know that I wrote in math class, except for a proofs class.  I did go to a good U, but I just can't fathom the idea that students at university level are NOT writing across the curriculum- what is the alternative?  That all U classes are turning to multiple choice tests? 

The idea that U professors should be correcting grammar or structure in students' writing baffles me.  If a (English speaking native) student is making significant enough grammar mistakes that they require correction, then I'd say that student is not ready to be in a university, or should be taking remedial writing instead of whatever content course he's in where the grammar mistakes are occurring.