Menu

UK peeps, explain death duties to me

Mom in High Heels

I'm no expert, but I think Inheritance Tax works like this: there's a tax allowance of £325k, and then it's 40% of everything in the estate above that.  The allowance is transferable between spouses too, I think.

I've just found the official explanations on the HMRC website, which should give you everything you want to know and more!

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/inheritancetax/intro/basics.htm

I'm no expert, but I think Inheritance Tax works like this: there's a tax allowance of £325k, and then it's 40% of everything in the estate above that.  The allowance is transferable between spouses too, I think.

I've just found the official explanations on the HMRC website, which should give you everything you want to know and more!

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/inheritancetax/intro/basics.htm

Thank you.  I was curious, because I've been watching Downton Abbey and they are discussing selling land to pay it.  

When we were in Germany, I'd see commercials about getting help paying death duties.  I can't imagine anyone who has an estate valued over Â£325k would need help from a company that advertises on TV though.  :)

Thank you.  I was curious, because I've been watching Downton Abbey and they are discussing selling land to pay it.  

When we were in Germany, I'd see commercials about getting help paying death duties.  I can't imagine anyone who has an estate valued over Â£325k would need help from a company that advertises on TV though.   :)

Death duty percentages have varied.  At some points in the 20th century, they were much higher.  Often landed families had relatively little cash, so had to sell up (or donate items/land to charitable institutions) to pay the duties.

L

I can't imagine anyone who has an estate valued over Â£325k would need help from a company that advertises on TV though.   :)