Menu

What to wear the Core Barre Class

Danestress

I am going to a Core Barre class at our local Jewish Community Center, which has lots of classes and I would say is, on the whole, nonthreatening and casual. I only say this to clarify that some ladies exercise classes have lots of women dressed to the nines and are rather intimidating, but I don't get that "vibe" here. Of course, I have never actually attended a class, only seen them through the window, because I am VERY VERY intimidated by group exercise.

I do like to wear what is generally appropriate so that I won't stand out and demonstrate that I am a total newbie. I will be coming from a tennis lesson, and at that time will be wearing a little skirt with build in shorts that would be good for running or (of course) tennis. That and a t'shirt. Can I wear that, or should I bring something to change into that is more "yoga esque" - Ie yoga capris and a tshirt designed not to slide up when doing the downward facing dog?

I have never done Core Barre. And I am not ashamed to say that I am scared but planning to do it anyway. What should I expect?