Menu

Sonlight questions

LAmom

If you use or have used Sonlight, can you tell me how it works?

1. History is not the 4-year cycle like SOTW, MFW, TOG, etc., right? So, it is a year of world history, american history, etc? I couldn't find a timeline of what is studied on their website.

2. How does it work for multiple children? I see many people with a bunch of kids use it but it seems like I would need several CORES to make it work. So, I would be juggling more than one instructors guide? And buying more than one core? Yikes. Does it work for you?

3. I am studying SOTW 1 this year. So where would I start next year with my 5th grader and 3rd grader. I would have a 1st grader, too (and 2 youngers), but he could just listen to the stories?

4. How does it compare to SOTW, MOH, MFW, TOG, etc?

5. The price is outrageous to me. Is it as bad as it looks?! :)

Thanks for any input you have. I see it recommended often but don't see how it would work well for a wide age range.

If you use or have used Sonlight, can you tell me how it works?

1. History is not the 4-year cycle like SOTW, MFW, TOG, etc., right? So, it is a year of world history, american history, etc? I couldn't find a timeline of what is studied on their website.

I've used cores PreK, A-G, 100, and parts of H and 200.

Core A is kind of World Cultures.

Cores B and C are World History

Cores D and E are US History (which actually works very nicely after the WH rotation).

Core F is more of a culture/geography focus on the Eastern Hemisphere

Cores G and H are another 2-year World History rotation.

100 is US history

200 is Church history

300 is 20th Century World History

400 is Government

530 has no history--it's British Literature.

It's easy to use SL as is, or to adapt it for a 4-year WH rotation if you prefer (I'm doing that currently with Cores G, H, and 200). The US history cores are very good.