Menu

Conceptual Chemistry course to recommend?

I've been advised to have my hopeful-engineer-to-be 9th grader take a conceptual chemistry course since he hasn't had algebra 1 yet. Can anyone recommend one? I have no knowledge of "conceptual chemistry" and just heard that term today for the first time. I was planning on using BJU science with the DIVE cds but I'm not sure that's an option if chemistry is the route we are going for 9th grade.

The newest version has free online access to the videos that go with the text (and are great). With the older edition you needed a CD/DVD-ROM and then you had to pay to get access beyond 6 months. The videos corresponding to the new edition are not in the same order.

All of this is to say that I'd get the new edition.

The newest version has free online access to the videos that go with the text (and are great). With the older edition you needed a CD/DVD-ROM and then you had to pay to get access beyond 6 months. The videos corresponding to the new edition are not in the same order.

All of this is to say that I'd get the new edition.

That is, if your student finds videos useful.

In our house, we tend to use just textbooks anyway (auxilliary resources end up not being used) - so I would buy the cheapest old edition and use the book alone, possibly supplement with the occasional Khan academy video if needed. But that's my kids.

That is, if your student finds videos useful.

In our house, we tend to use just textbooks anyway (auxilliary resources end up not being used) - so I would buy the cheapest old edition and use the book alone, possibly supplement with the occasional Khan academy video if needed. But that's my kids.

This was one of the few instances where we actually used the auxiliary resources here. Although my son did complain (repeatedly) that the guy on the videos reminded him of the guy on Blue's Clues.