Menu

How many of you have done (private) therapy for your LD kid?

We are looking into an intensive, multidisciplinary therapy for ds11. His neuropsychologist highly recommends it. He has a language disorder (mostly expressive, but some receptive) and processing problems. He has SID. He is gifted. He has OCD, which is thankfully completely under control with supplements. He will be having an EEG soon to check for absence seizures. Whew! A lot going on with this kid!

I'm just wondering how many of you have sought treatment. I know things have changed a lot since I majored in learning disabilities in college; back then, the emphasis was on tailoring a student's work to fit his needs, and teaching him/her coping skills. Now, there are therapies which seem to actually retrain the brain to work more effectively.

Any experience?

Wendi

My son's main struggle at this point is with his expressive language. He used to have real difficulty with receptive language as well, but that is the area that therapy has helped him the most.

I don't know what therapy you are looking at, but my son has done lots of different things. He's done private speech, OT, 6 weeks at Lindamood Bell, Neuronet, social skills classes and Auditory Integration Training. We've gotten mixed results. Lindamood Bell, Neuronet, the social skills classes and OT were the big winners for him. Neuronet is probably the most along the lines of what you are talking about. The provider always spoke about changing the brain.

My stepdaughter did the NILD program for 2 years and made progress, but not enough to justify continuing. She was older when she did the program though and I have since heard that it is more successful for younger children.

I definitely feel that the therapies have helped quite a bit and were very worthwhile, but my son still has learning disabilities. I have come to realize that no therapy is going to change that.

Lisa