Menu

Financial Aid Advice

snowbeltmom

I am just beginning to wade through the whole financial aid process, and I am finding it to be overwhelming. Do you have any suggestions on where I should begin?

I have read posts on College Confidential that a student's financial aid package can vary widely from school to school. I have also read of cases where a family's EFC was way more than the online calculator predicted. What are some reasons for this?

How can you determine if a school uses the FAFSA, the CSS, or its own financial aid calculator?

My dh has his own business, we own multiple rental properties, and our taxes are complicated. Is our situation going to make it more difficult to use the online calculators?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

How can you determine if a school uses the FAFSA, the CSS, or its own financial aid calculator?

I would look at the school's financial aid website. Some colleges require the CSS for all financial aid requests; my son's college only uses it for Early Decision. Thus if I look at the CSS site to see the list of colleges that accept it, I find my son's school on the list. But most applicants do not use it.

My dh has his own business, we own multiple rental properties, and our taxes are complicated. Is our situation going to make it more difficult to use the online calculators?

I suspect that your situation may not fit neatly into the online calculators but why not give several a try. Also, the FAFSA site has a preliminary worksheet available on the kind of data that is entered. Perhaps this will help you when filling in estimates.

Start a thread on college confidential's financial aid forum (if you haven't already). There are some very wise gurus on there, some work in the financial aid office(s).

Otherwise, I'd probably be looking mostly for merit aid that isn't dependent upon need if at all possible.