Menu

LLATL colors/levels...help!!

kailuamom

If my ds already knows his letters and is sounding out words (he is in Explode the Code 2 and about half way through OPGTR), what level would he be in for LLATL? I have never used the program before and am a lost in all the "colors" of the series! I don't want it to be overly challenging, but not boring, either.

We're currently using the Blue level (the first one-First Grade level, although I'd say it's more of a K level). In the Blue book, you start with all the individual letter sounds, sounding out CVC words, then move to consonant blends, then to long vowels/vowel blends (we're on this now). In conjunction with this you also learn to write all the letters. From your description it sounds like your son is a little ahead of this-so Red (the Second Grade level) might be right for him.

But I would check the samples on the website to be sure.

If you started him now, yes, he'd start in Red. But, if it were me, I'd just wait until he can read well and put him in Yellow.

The Red Program is just too expensive for my taste. Now, if you can find an Older Version Red book, then I think it may be worth it.

I had the same situation, but got a GREAT deal on Sonlight LA 2, so I'm using that this year. Next year (3rd grade) he will do LLATL Yellow.

If my ds already knows his letters and is sounding out words (he is in Explode the Code 2 and about half way through OPGTR), what level would he be in for LLATL? I have never used the program before and am a lost in all the "colors" of the series! I don't want it to be overly challenging, but not boring, either.

It helps if you think of them more as "levels" instead of "grades". It can get confusing if your trying to line up the grades with the colors! But, for the most part, they go kind of like this:

Blue (K/1st--beginning reading, beginning phonics)

Red (1st/2nd--intermediate reading and phonics)