Menu

Russian language sources?

DS has done Latin since 3rd grade (he's 9th grade now). I insisted that he continue through at least one year of high school to get it on the transcript, but he's truly sick of it and really wants to do something else. All along I figured he'd probably go with a Romance language--Spanish being perhaps the most useful and easily supplemented or French since I studied it in high school and college. But NooOOOooooooo. He wants to do Russian. So I figured Rosetta Stone was probably the most realistic option since I have ZERO experience with it. CC classes are a possibility for perhaps 11th or 12th grade, but to start with, what should I know about Rosetta Stone and what other options are there?

I've already checked a few items out from the library, an audio conversational Russian course (haven't picked it up yet and don't remember the name) and some children's books and videos in Russian. When I have studied other languages myself, I found that children's books were very helpful for practice (French, Spanish, Icelandic). This will be for 10th grade, next year, but I'm trying to scout out what's available and get a bit of a head-start on next year.

Thanks!

I really like Pimsleur. It's fairly painless, and gets you a lot of useful vocabulary and grammatical structures pretty quickly. It's not a grammar course, but I think it's a better start than Rosetta Stone that way.

For the alphabet/ script, you can get a workbook at the bookstore (Barnes & Noble?)... and for a little more "something" than Pimsleur, I actually like the Penguin Course... It's not tremendous, but it will get you somewhere... and it's reading/writing, which complements the Pimsleur listening/speaking practice very nicely.

Would you say that RS Russian 1-3 would be appropriate for three years of high school Russian? Would you say that Russian 1 would be appropriate for 1 year of high school Russian?