Menu

Those of you who homeschool/work...& consider yourselves good time managers....

I'm currently homeschooling 'lite' with my 4 year old. Baby girl is shredding paper and dirtying diapers. I want to ask a question of those of you who both homeschool and work part-time (or do heavy-duty volunteer work outside the home)--and consider yourselves good time managers. I want some pointers on this.

I'm probably already a decent time manager, but I'm always looking for ways to improve. Lately I've been thinking I'm not, but that may be a 'season of life' thing (there is little efficiency with a 1 year old tornado in the house). Still, I always feel like I want to get inspiration and wisdom from those who have BTDT!

I'm an attorney, not currently practicing. I anticipate homeschooling indefinitely, but we'll see. I used to practice part-time, from home, on a contract basis. I really think I'd like to do that again once the children are older! It might (?) dovetail nicely with homeschooling!

I also want to find some way to volunteer in a hands-on, meaningful way with children in foster care, I think. I have been doing some reading about the foster care system and would appreciate trying to help make an impact on children who are marginalized. (I've entertained the thought of fostering myself, but I'm not sure DH would be totally onboard, and we are a TEAM!)

None of this can happen *NOW*, but perhaps after my little girl is about 5. But I do like thinking, dreaming, envisioning, and planning, and right now I think the more I can streamline and manage my time very very well, the easier it will be later to add more to my plate.

Also--I like to exercise regularly, I cook dinner (we have weird diets--kind of gluten-free vegan-ish, and we can't really eat out much)--so that definitely takes a HUNK of time every day, and I like a clean house. Clean-*ish* with baby hurricane here. She's one busy girl!! :001_smile: