Menu

DS flies through his schoolwork... should I add more?

georgialee

This is DS's Kindergarten year, though he's at the older end (turned 6 in the beginning of October). This is my first year homeschooling and I didn't realized until after I had the materials that we're doing more 1st grade than K, but DS is doing well so far.

We follow HOD LHFHG with some substitutions. Here's our schedule:

History - 5x a week

Bible - 5x a week

Read aloud - 5x a week

MUS Alpha - 5x a week (one lesson per day)

SWR - 3x a week (on days we don't do handwriting since he has to write in the journal)

Handwriting - 2x a week

Thinking skills - 2-3x a week

Reading - 5x a week (he reads a reader out loud to me)

Doing all of this only takes him an hour. He'll do artsy type stuff throughout the day but I don't count that in the hour.

Should I add more? He gets easily frustrated with reading and writing so though we do them every day, I cannot push him to do more at this time. He is great at math, absorbs history readily (we already read more than the HOD schedule) and likes the Bible stories (I'll read as many of them as he wants plus what is on the HOD schedule).

When not doing our hour of school he plays with his 4 yr old brother... it's constructive play which is good for both of them, obviously... especially the younger one since he isn't really intersted in school yet.

I wouldn't add much. I think kids that age need play time more than they need more academic time. But you might add a little or you might consider skipping a few things, like only doing some of the problems in math so he can speed ahead and little and get to more challenging things. Or maybe swapping one or more of your programs for something slightly more challenging. Just my take, though.