Menu

HELP with Science

Hi everyone,

This is my first year homeschooling and I am learning a great deal. I now realize that I picked some curriculum(s) that aren't working. I really dislike the science curriculum I bought for this year. My girls are ages 4, 5, 6 and the baby is 1. My oldest 2 are very bright, and I think my 2nd DD is gifted. Anyway, that being said I wanted a faith based curriculum so I picked Apologia Astronomy Junior. It is WAY too much for us this year. Maybe it will be usable someday, but not for at least 2 years.

So, now my dilemma.... Do I skip science all together this year? I hate to do that, but I don't have anything else to use. I have looked into creating my own unit studies but it is too time intensive this first year for me. I want something easy to pick up and just do science but fun. I want it to be not too time consuming. I know that is probably asking too much, right? I just don't know what to do, now. I am so overwhelmed with schooling this year, that making my own science curriculum is too daunting.

I have looked into Nancy Larson Science 1, even though it isn't faith based, but it is so so so pricey. I don't think I can afford to buy much since I already spent on the first program. Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Check out prontolessons.com...It is not faith based but simple and scripted and the kids are getting science. It is pretty basic. AND BEST OF ALL, IT IS FREE! I am using it for my two fourth graders and 2nd grader who is really more like a first grader.

You can print out additional information or worksheets from the web. You don;t need any books or materials per se but you can add whatever you have laying around someone gave me some old Abeka science textbooks and we read a few pages of those corresponding to the topics. Very little prep time. I utilized it earlier in the year when we were living in a hotel temporarily.

And you can throw in some activities from one of the science books found in the library.