Menu

Teaching Textbooks Algebra 1 and Chemistry ready?

Guest TracyNC

Hello I am a newbie here, and have been lurking some last night. I was reading a good bit about how some think that teaching textbooks is behind, and it scares me because my son has started Chemistry, and I am afraid that I have jumped the gun here with started him out in Chemistry! He is in his third week of Chemistry, and is having a hard time as the other's in his class are too (he goes to a home school class once a week) they are using Abeka, not sure why they aren't using Apologia? Even his Chemistry teacher said the Apologia was easier. Anyway's I am concerned that he is not learning enough math, especially to keep up with this chemistry class, he has been doing the Algebra for a little over a month. I was thinking I may even have to take him out of the Chemistry, I'm just not sure yet, wanted to see what advice I could get from here. So far, they are not doing to much of the chemistry related math stuff. The thing that worries me is, he already struggles some in math, and I am afraid that any other math program will be too hard. He also has adhd, so that makes things even tougher! Should I supplement another math with the TT's? Or should I check out MUS? I understand that is a good math for learning disabled kids. I just don't know what to do?! I want him to succeed in math and Chemistry BUT I do not want him to NOT understand his math and hate it either, we tried saxon in 6th grade and that was a complete nightmare! So we won't go back there! lol ANY suggestions? THANKS!!!!

Tracy

What grade is your son? I would suggest pulling him out of chemistry and have him wait to take that until he has completed at least Algebra I. In my experience, most people take Chemistry their sophomore year, or even their junior year, if they are not planning a career in a science related field.