Menu

Breaking the Barrier or So You Really Want to Learn Spanish?

I'm just looking for input on these. I speak no Spanish. My boys don't really want a computer program, so I've narrowed it down to these.

I haven't seen many reviews against SYRWTLS, but I don't really care for the illustrations in them.

I came across BtB, but there seems to be a good bit of bad reviews.

Just fishing for input.

Thanks,

Kim

It was laid out, IMNSHO, in a very poor way. It jumped around too much and did not follow a pattern that I thought would be easy to teach (or learn, for that matter).

I am a teacher of Spanish and learned the language as a second language. I've not seen a Spanish program that I truly love (or even remotely like). For my own kids, I am using BJU along with my Spanish book from high school, which I must say, is the BEST book I have EVER come across. Figures. It was a good book, so they had to make something 'better', which really is code for 'garbage'.

I don't believe that BJU is a book one can teach from if one is not fluent in the language. There are many issues that I have with this book, as well, and I have contacted them to tell them of how poorly their program is put together. Yes, I am a very demanding consumer when it comes to Spanish programs.

I know I've done nothing to help your situation, but hope I've not further muddied the waters.

FWIW... :)

I haven't see BtB, but I am very, very happy with SYRWTL Spanish. We've been using it successfully for a couple years. Our tutor (native speaker, teacher at both high school and university) has been very pleased with it.

I've posted on this topic previously, so won't repeat everything. . .

Geez, I got BtB at the beginning of this school year, and many were raving about it. So I guess the likes and don't likes go in cycles??