Menu

Apologia Bio or BJU Bio - likes, dislikes? (m)

Can you tell me what you think of these programs? I am planning for the future and am in no hurry so I would really like to have many views of these programs. They both look incredibly boring to me, but I am old enough to know that not all subjects are going to be wildly exciting to our students or to me. :p

I do though, want it to be interesting and worthwhile. Have any of you used one and then another for another child? Any thoughts or comments would be much appreciated.

Warmly,

Kate

Kate,

I can't compare the two, but I can tell you our experience with Apologia Biology. I coordinated a biology class two years ago using Apologia and really liked it. While I loved science in hs, I was a journalism major and attorney, so no higher science background. I found Apologia easy to understand and facilitate. I added in several hands-on projects, a video, a field trip and a guest dissector. We met every two weeks and I reviewed the chapter, but mostly facilitated the labs. We used the slide set from Home Science Tools.

As you know, Apologia always gets mixed reviews. :rolleyes: Because the text talks to the student, it is very manageable. And I knew my dc would be taking AP Bio later and, thus, Apologia wouldn't be their only pass through biology. Apologia seems heavy on microbiology and has little on human anatomy/physiology or evolution (of course).

HTH,

Lisa

My 11th grade ds, who is a science-guy, used all of the Apologia science texts, from Gen Science in 6th through Physics in 10th. While I also thought that the texts looked incredibly boring initially, my kids found them engaging. I found them extremely easy to use as the teacher/mom.

We have not used the advanced texts, opting instead for community college classes. My ds just completed his first semester of General Chemistry at the CC, and did well. So I think that speaks well for the Apologia chemistry text.