Menu

Bumpy rash on DD5's elbows, kneecaps, and ankles?

It is the oddest thing. She woke up with it this morning. The bumps itch some, and she says they hurt some. She's not complaining much about them, but I do notice her scratching a bit and touching them. They're not huge, just maybe 8-10 small lumps in each spot--not on her face or chest or anywhere else. She didn't have them last night. She has no fever or sore throat or anything, although she did have an upper respiratory thing for most of the past week--that's mostly gone now.

It doesn't look anything like the Google images I saw for Fifth Disease or Sixth Disease, but I have no IRL experience, so I don't know.

WWYD about this? Would you take her to gymnastics tonight with this?

ETA: They don't look like anything I've seen online (and BTW, gross!!!). Instead, they look like small mosquito bites, just a bunch in a generalized area. Come to think of it...she showed me two tiny ones on the back of her heel yesterday morning, but I thought they were from wearing a new-to-her pair of shoes :confused:

Edited by melissel

Because I where they are, I immediately wondered if you had recently changed laundry detergents?

Nope, same stuff I've been using for years now, and I'm at the end of a huge bottle, so I wouldn't think they've changed the formula. But thanks for the thought!

My hives often look like small to medium-sized bug bites, and I do tend to get them around my joints and extremities. A more serious episode turns them into the flat, irregularly shaped welts that most people recognize as hives, but milder episodes look just like bug bites.

Post-viral hives (post-viral urticaria) are not uncommon, so that's a possibility since she recently had a bug.