Menu

I'm a beginner to Charlotte Mason. . . where should I begin?

Alicia64

I don't want to leave WTM and my curricula all together. But I keep hearing so many good things about Charlotte Mason.

But I don't know where to begin. . .

Thanks!

Alley

Susan Schaeffer Macaulay's book, "For the Children's Sake" is an excellant starting point!

You are welcome to read my review of the book at www.amazon.com

:)

The two are not mutually exclusive. There's a lot of overlap in technique, and you can create a CM education that incorporates a lot of the WTM method (or vice versa).

Ambleside Online has a ton of resources that will help you understand CM.

I take the Ambleside Online recommendations, replace their history with SOTW, and mush the reading list around to fit better with the WTM 4-year rotation (AO is roughly a 5 year rotation, and I think I kind of agree with their reasoning more, but the WTM rotation works well with our family's child spacing, so I'm doing it that way.)

http://www.tanglewoodeducation.com/ is a CM-based curriculum arranged along the WTM history rotation.

http://dev.welltrainedmind.com/charlotte-mason-education/ and http://dev.welltrainedmind.com/the-classical-side-of-charlotte-mason/ have a lot of information about the WTM method and how Charlotte Mason methods compare.

I'm definately more CM than WTM. I use www.amblesideonline.com for my core using www.truthquesthistory.com for our history (an Ambleside alternate that lets me keep my kids together in a cycle). I also add in a progym writing program (Writing Tales then Classical Writing) and use Analytical Grammar. We don't do as much early memory work as strictly classical. It was challenging finding a balance. Best wishes:) Gina

I consider our homeschooling style Charlotte Mason/Classical. Some people would consider or think that Charlotte Mason is like an unschooling or something, but Based on Charlotte