Menu

What is this chap on about?

Rosie_0801

http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/2007/11/07/how-to-learn-but-not-master-any-language-in-1-hour-plus-a-favor/

I was just looking online for info on learning to read a language and tripped over this. I'm going to risk being waffly, but if you all had something important to do you wouldn't be reading this so I'm just going to waffle and hope it irons out into a proper question.

I'm studying Analytical Grammar so I can dutifully move onto Latin. I don't object to learning Latin, since I have a few very good reasons to do so, but I'd really like to be learning to read Polish. I don't speak more than a dozen words of it, I don't have anyone to speak it to and am not likely to get to Poland again for another 25 years if ever. The Polish rellies I communicate with will either have shuffled onto their next life before I learn enough to compose a letter, or are happy to use English for the practice. I do, however, have a couple of spiffy books I'd love to be able to translate, or at least work my way through. (I have an interest in Polish heraldry and there is very little info in English; and a book on my grandfather's regiment from when he fought in the Warsaw Uprising, which, unsurprisingly, isn't available in English either.)

I don't have the time or brain space to devote to an active knowledge of Polish, but could I manage a passive knowledge? How would I go about that? I feel like the answer to that is "duh, you just do" or perhaps "you heretic, learn the language properly or stay snuffling in your monolingual box." (I'm not monolingual, but signed languages don't count for much when contemplating spoken/written languages.) I could make learning Polish properly a retirement project, but being only 30, I've got a long way to go and I could probably learn to read a fair bit in that time.

Ok, hit me with it. :)

Rosie