Menu

A few quick questions about Classical Conversations

TCoppock

We have a CC group forming near us and it has sparked my interest. My son will be going into 6th grade next year and it appear like he would fit into the Foundations/Essentials group. I have a few questions/concerns regarding the Essentials group that I am hoping someone on the board can answer for me.

1. Is CC suppose to be a complete program besides math for the younger grades?

2. I notice that grammar is taught and there will be homework given. Do we have to use the grammar program if we participate in Essentials or can we stick to R&S? I guess what I'm asking is if this is an all or nothing type of program.

3. When my son reaches Challenge level is Saxon required? Saxon has not worked for us in the past and I don't wish to try it again.

I am pretty new to CC as well, but this much I do know:

-- For Essentials, the grammar is a complete program. Yes, you could add more, but there isn't a need, necessarily. Focus is on sentence structures, parts of speech, diagramming, and is quite in-depth. CC believes that the parent is the teacher, however, and so if you want to alter things, that is your choice. I recommend speaking with the tutor just to make sure he/she knows what your plans are.

-- Writing in Essentials is from Institute for Excellence in Writing. The CC program goes through different writing structures and stylistic devices, so your child will do everything from research to creative word choices.

-- CC for youngers (not in Essentials) will still require the parent to do math (as you said) and language arts.

-- I know nothing about Challenge. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

As a former high school English teacher, I have been very impressed with what I've seen so far of the Essentials program. Kids will be well prepared for future writing endeavors.