Menu

Question about what happened after the Flood to people's belief in God (CC)

This is probably a really basic question, but I am a Christian that has not received good teaching so even though I've been a Christian awhile, I'm still learning and I'm trying to understand this point:

I've been reading about how salvation through Christ would come through the Jews, and then to the Gentiles. I understand that part. But what happened in between to other people groups besides the Israelites? In other words, after the Flood, did most other people groups besides the Jews move away from the God of the Old Testament?

Here is what I have: At first, ALL people knew about God. Then they backslid, thus the Flood. Then after the Flood, they started descending from Noah until Tower of Babel. Then at that point the Bible mostly talks about the Jews' history throughout the OT. I do know that the descendants of Ham mostly became the enemies of Israel.

Did any of the groups of people besides the Jewish people retain their knowledge of God throughout the OT? Thanks for the help!

In Genesis 15:16 God tells Abraham that his descendants will not recieve the land of promise yet because "the iniquity of the Ammorites is not complete". The Ammorites were sinful, but they knew something of God and what they should do. God was giving them time to repent, which they chose not to do.

So yes, other peoples knew of God, however due to sin, many of them did not obey Him.