Menu

FAFSA Question

Pam in MA

We're just starting highschool at home this year and I have a question about diplomas and financial aid. As I understand it, I don't have to worry about getting a high school diploma to apply to colleges as long as we have met entrance requirements as shown by our transcript, SAT, SATII, etc. But if we want to apply for financial aid at a school, which requires the FAFSA form, that requires either a GED or a high school diploma. If we don't want to take the GED for various reasons, is a high school diploma, issued by our homeschool, acceptable? Does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks!

We're just starting highschool at home this year and I have a question about diplomas and financial aid. As I understand it, I don't have to worry about getting a high school diploma to apply to colleges as long as we have met entrance requirements as shown by our transcript, SAT, SATII, etc. But if we want to apply for financial aid at a school, which requires the FAFSA form, that requires either a GED or a high school diploma. If we don't want to take the GED for various reasons, is a high school diploma, issued by our homeschool, acceptable? Does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks!

They do not ask to see a diploma. I made my diploma for my children months after we applied for FAFSA.

Even colleges have only asked for a transcript. It has a date of graduation on it, and that is as close to a diploma as they get. :)

Here is our diploma, if you are interested.

http://shadesofwhite.typepad.com/shades_of_white/2009/03/homeschool-high-school-diploma-sample.html

Jean