Menu

I'm a newbie

I was so happy when I found this forum. As a newbie I have a few questions. This is my first full year homeschooling. My dd is in 3rd grade and ds in kindergarten. This year for them I chose the clp curriculum. I am just learning all the home school laws. We live in Missouri. I know that we have to log hours. I have been doing a lot of reading and really can't find much on how to and what all we can log. I know that we have to have 1000 hours, 600 core and 400 non core. Well we have our curriculum to log those hours on. On spelling and voc work do I log those under language arts? Sometimes we do work on the computer. Such as games for math, reading and so on. What do I log these under. Core or non core. To me they could be used as both. Computer skills could be used as non core and the math games could be used as core. If I think about it we could log hours most of the day. When I cook my little girl helps. Well she learns math by using measuring and she learns home eco too. At night before we go to bed we always watch Animal planet. Can I log that as science. If this is the case I could well have over 1000 hours. Most of the things I do consist of learning. You can even log going to the store as math by teaching your child price comparison. I am just way overwhelmed with all this and what to log and how to log it. Can somebody please help with the way you log hours and such things. I'm sorry this is so long. I have searched the internet but just can't find what I'm looking for. Thank you guys for any help. My e-mail address is bdroberts1998@yahoo.com

God Bless,

Doniell

Welcome to the boards. I don't think you can edit the title of your post, but I think you should post another note with something like 'homeschooling in Missouri?' in the title. You might get answers more quickly from people experienced with the homeschool laws in Missouri. State laws will vary.