Menu

What does Flax seeds do?

I add it to yogurt or applesauce. It helps to cleanse your body as it is high in fiber and binds to bad stuff (I think estrogren compounds....don't quote me). It is high in lignins which are good for you. It helps your skin and hair repair and keeps you young looking. It is also an anti inflamitory agent.

FYI, I am really not a doctor nor do I want to be. I just like food as medicine info.

If you do get it grind it yourself immediately before you eat it. It goes rancid fast (in a day not in seconds:p). I grind mine about 1-2 tablespoons in a handheld coffee grinder to a semi-fine powder each day. It goes a little thick once added to a liquid and will thicken the applesauce and yogurt. It is nutty in flavor.

Some people use it as a topping for applebrown betty type desserts. Mixed with sugar and butter. Yum! It is good but I do not have a recipe.

If you google it you will find lots of stuff out there. It is a generally accepted health food and not considered "quackish".

Hope that helps shed some light on it!

Flax seed also is a good source of Omega 3, almost as good as eating fish. (I think it is the Omega 3 not Omega 6, I get them confused). It is supposed to be very good for reducing cholesterol levels. I eat it on my oat bran, & try to put it in any baked goods I make. It can be used even as an egg substitute although I've never tried that yet. It has a pleasant nutty taste. A small coffee grinder does the best job of grinding up the seeds.

... I've been reading up on fish oil, etc.

The following book was recommended on this board: The LCP Solution: The Remarkable Treatment for ADHD, Dyslexia and Dyspraxia" by Jacqueline B. Stordy. She offers the LCP Solution.