Menu

General business or Entrepreneurship?

Sweet Home Alabama

Dd is a sophomore in college this year.  She is trying to decide between these two majors.  Her goal is to own her own business, but she also wants to be able to be employed to have a safety net.

She is trying to find out if she should specialize (entrepreneurship major) or get  a general business degree (no specialization). She could tack on a minor if that would translate into better job opportunities.

It would be helpful to hear from experienced business owners/employers here who could give her some direction.

Anyone?

Edited by Sweet Home Alabama

As a business professor, I would suggest entrepreneurship major at most business schools over a general business degree.  One reason is that there tends to be more departmental scholarship money for people with an entrepreneurship major than for general business majors.  Often a general business degree is what students end up getting if they start out on one degree track (accounting or finance, for example) and then find they don't like the upper level courses in that particular area.  So, for some employers, it may not sound as strong as an entrepreneurship major.  However, the differences in the curriculum for these majors can be large across different universities.  

• Like 2

Thanks. This was a very similar answer to the ones she heard at her school today.  

She has always thought she would choose general business, but the school is dissuading students from that major in preference to entrepreneurship.

The school is also advising a finance minor.  They told her that she would be more marketable with this because many people don't know how to run the financial side of business.

Do you agree?

Thanks. This was a very similar answer to the ones she heard at her school today.

She has always thought she would choose general business, but the school is dissuading students from that major in preference to entrepreneurship.