Menu

Piano People: At what age do you recommend use of the metronome?

At what age do you recommend use of the metronome?

Our situation:
--We have a metronome, and we have played around with it, but not seriously.
--Dd is 7.  She has been playing ~3 years.  She is in the Piano Adventure Level 1 books.
--I teach her.  I am not a professional musician or trained music teacher. 
--I do not require things to be played perfectly before moving on to a new song.  She passes when she misses less than one note/staff on a "cold play" (has not played that song yet today).  As we continue through the book, we play former songs on a regular basis.  This allows for improvement of songs over time.

--I have no plans for my child to be a professional musician, play at Carnagie Hall, or be the next musical child prodigy.  Our goals are to learn a skill and enjoy the music. 
--She CAN play with the metronome, but not for her newer or more complex songs.

My questions:

1) At what age did your children (or do you recommend for children to) start using a metronome regularly?

2) What does "regularly" mean to you?  Daily?  Weekly?

3) At that point, how seriously do you take the use of the metronome?  If the child is not playing with proper tempo to match the ticking of the metronome, how much time (or percent of time) for each practice time would you/your student work on it?

4) Are there ways to ease into using a metronome?  Perhaps only worrying about one phrase of a song; then putting the metronome away?

Disclaimer: I'm not planning on making my 7yo miserable over a metronome at this time.  I'm just looking for some guidance to plan for the future since this has come up recently in our homeschool.

Thank you in advance to all replies.  I appreciate your experience and your input.