Menu

Husband stressed...bringing it home

My husband is so stressed because of work......more responsibility, 10% reduction in pay across the board, layoffs in the company every week it seems. I know as the provider it weighs so heavily on him, and I listen and encourage as best I can. But we are fighting all the time! It is wearing on me so much, and I am completely tapped out.

I am in my second year of homeschooling, I have a new baby, my hormones are on a rollercoaster, we have no family here, I am solely in charge of the education, cleaning, finances, grocery shopping and cooking, I teach at church.......**big sigh**

I guess what I'm asking is if anyone can offer me some encouragement as to how to be a good supportive wife through all this when I feel so alone and utterly depleted.:001_unsure:

I would ask him. "Honey, what do you need?"

Maybe it's 30 minutes of quiet when he comes home so he can unwind. Maybe you could suggest he go for a walk or a run while you get supper on.

I know my dh really thrives on PEACE at home. When he gets home, he likes the house to be somewhat orderly, no children fighting, and dinner done or nearly done. A calm, peaceful atmosphere. Once he's had some time to decompress, well, then the wrestling begins.

But ask your dh how you could help him.

My only advice is to talk to God, as much as you need to~

He is a safe place, and He'll never be too busy to hear you.

We are in our 3rd month of unemployment, and I feel completely at peace.

The month before the announcement was the hardest, because we dealt with all of the what-ifs and had too much time to think. ;)

God is perfectly able to make your 90% stretch as far or further than your 100% did.

And, He will bring people into your life that want to help you!

Take heart~

John Eldredge's website

http://www.ransomedheart.com

was and is a HUGE support for my husband throughout this hard time.

I was determined not to let this sour our family time.