Menu

Benefits of Latin?

shand21

I'm new to homeschooling and looking around at the different methods/approaches. So far, I'm liking what I'm seeing about the classical approach. While I fully intend on having my kids learn a second language later on, I was wondering what the benefits of teaching Latin would be and, if it's something I wanted to take on, when would be the best time to start introducing it. Thanks for any help/insights you can give me! 

I thought this was the best reason for Latin. I was on the fence literally no love or hate to teach Latin. After reading this website's reasons for Latin I will begin in 4th grade.

http://www.heritagestudycenter.org/why-do-we-teach-latin.html 

While all of the articles were helpful, this was definitely insightful. I'm gonna keep looking into it, but I'm pretty sure that Latin will be a part of our curriculum. Hopefully it'll help our kids get over the hurdles we faced in school.

Third or fourth grade is probably going to be easiest for your DC. That's when my oldest homeschooler started and it was amazing to see how her brain was just hard wired to learn. Her three years younger brother and I had to struggle to keep up with her. Eventually I had to separate the two kids for the sake of the younger's feelings.

My other kids have started younger, but that's just because it's fun and part of our family culture, sort of like how it would be mean to refuse to teach your young child how to play chess if that's what all the rest of the family did every time they got together and their speech was constantly peppered with allusions to chess.

dd27 says her Latin background helped her a lot with college placement exams and saved her quite a bit of money. It's the only weird homeschooly thing she has explicitly thanked me for yet. I'm sure there will be others as she heads into her 30s and beyond, but being thanked by a 20something isn't common and is definitely a valid benefit of Latin. ;)

Edited by Guest
  • Like 1