Menu

Sonlight Core 200 for 9th grader... any tips or advice?

Dd is going into 9th grade in September and, after I presented her with many options, has chosen Sonlight Core 200. I did their Eastern Hemispheres core years ago with another child, but have no other experience with SL, and EH is not a 'typical' core, so I feel like I am quite new to SL. 

Anyone have any advice or tips? Things to skip? Things to make sure that I don't miss out on?

She did a Write at Home course for composition this past year, and it was brilliant, so she'll be doing that again next year. So I don't need to worry about the writing assignments within the literature component.

But I'm struggling a bit with understanding their IG. I see the weekly schedules that list chapters or pages needing to be read, but then what do we do beyond that? I see that there are some comprehension questions in the study guide sections, which we'll probably just do orally. But there's other info there with no instructions that I can find.

For instance, some reading selections have 'vocabulary development' with them, just a phrase with a word in bold print. Is the student supposed to look up those definitions? 

For the map assignments, are students just meant to look at the appropriate map and notice the location of each place listed? 

Also, I've seen a note in the introduction that the Westminster Shorter Catechism is highly Calvinistic. They recommend finding another catechism if this bothers the parent, but don't give any other suggestions. Does anyone have any ideas of another catechism that is middle-of-the-road, evangelical, non-denominational?

Finally, what do you call the course on a transcript? I'd rather not use their title, History of God's Kingdom.

We did it last year and dropped the church history portion a few months in. My dd hated it. It was VERY dry. Sorry. We ended up using Notgrass world history for the history parts.