Menu

Course Descriptions and the Common App

blossom12

Hello!

I am completely new to the world of college applications but I get the feeling I will be spending a lot of time at the hive over the next few months.  :D

For those of you who are providing course descriptions, is there a place for that on the Common App or do you send that in separately via snail mail?

Also, for colleges who do not request course descriptions, did any of you submit them anyway just to be thorough?

Thanks!

A year ago, I had the same question:

http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/488453-course-descriptions-in-common-app/?hl=%2Bcommon

The Common App gives the opportunity to upload multiple transcripts. I uploaded the regular transcript as first transcript and the file with the course descriptions as 2nd transcript. The CA is the same for all schools, so even the ones who do not want to see descriptions get them.

For a school with a separate application system, I'd submit them anyway, even if not requested.

Welcome to the craziness. There were many threads discussing the CA last year, since they rolled out the new version. You may find it helpful to search the archives on this board.

The Common App gives the opportunity to upload multiple transcripts. I uploaded the regular transcript as first transcript and the file with the course descriptions as 2nd transcript. The CA is the same for all schools, so even the ones who do not want to see descriptions get them.

For a school with a separate application system, I'd submit them anyway, even if not requested.

Ditto.

For those of you who are providing course descriptions, is there a place for that on the Common App or do you send that in separately via snail mail?

Also, for colleges who do not request course descriptions, did any of you submit them anyway just to be thorough?