Menu

Help me plan a party menu - updated in #11

Penguin

The party was today!  I wrote about it in post #11. Thank you so much!

I need help planning a party menu.  I am a decent cook, and have thrown many parties over the years BUT I struggle to do it in a small European apartment.  For better or for worse, I am used to cooking for a crowd with a big house, a grill and two full-sized refrigerators. Help!

The party: 

Sunday afternoon, 12:30 to 4ish

About 20 people.  WIde range of ages, but no small children. A mix of young teens, young adults (20s), and adults over 40.

Parameters:

We have a small apartment, but we have access to a  courtyard.  Hopefully, the weather will be nice enough that I will not have 20 people inside at any given moment in time.

The oven is very tiny by American standards.  If we decide to bake a bunch of stuff, it will have to be done sequentially.

I can make things ahead, but storing them is an issue.  I do not have the freezer space to store anything. I do have a bit of fridge space.

Bags of ice are unavailable.

I have a crockpot, a microwave and an itty bitty grill.

I have plenty of helpers (mom, DH and 2 teenagers).

That's all I can think of right now...

If it were me, I would make a few loaves of French bread the day before since they can sit on the counter overnight and be fine. A large garden salad in the fridge. Two or three lasagnas would be cooking the hours before the party and then sit covered on the stove top. For dessert I would make a few no-bake chocolate pies, kept in the fridge. Or cookies ahead of time kept in Tupperware.

Or taco salad! That would be more appropriate for lunch and easier to make. You would want to triple this recipe:

1lb ground beef cooked

1 can corn, drained

1 can kidney beans or 1 cup cooked white rice.

8 oz taco sauce or more

1 tbs chili powder or more