Menu

Has Anyone Used Both Singapore Primary Math and Math in Focus?

CAtoVA

Have you had experience using both curricula? If yes, what has been your experience? Do you think one is superior to the other, are they the same, etc.? If you switched did you keep with it or go back?

I have been using Singapore Primary Math for five years now with two different kiddoes and have really liked it. DS is in private school this year (4th grade) and using Singapore Math in Focus. I find I like that as well and am now wondering if I should switch to Singapore Math in Focus for DD (age 5 1/2). She would start with the 1st grade books as she is now finishing up Singapore Earlybird K.

Thanks for any insight!

If you a ready have the HIGs and textbooks for Singapore, then it might not be worth switching. Personally, I find MIF a lot easier to teach, but since you've been through it before (twice?) it might not matter. Personally, I am such a visual person that I love opening up MIF and seeing in actual photos what to do with the manipulatives. The program just immediately makes sense to me, wheras with PM I have to stop and read the HIG. If my kid wasn't so wiggly, I wouldn't care, but being able to just open the book and start teaching makes my life a lot easier.

PM has better pacing, IMO. Each lesson you do some teaching from the HIG, go through the textbook exercises, and refer to the workbook. With MIF you may teach for 2-3 days before you assign any workbook pages, and then it may take 2-3 days to get through the worksheets. I have a K student doing MIF 1, so he doesn't have the stamina to do a ton at once. Other kids may do all the worksheets in one day. So PM has a more predictable rhythm, but that also means lots of flipping between books which gets annoying for many. MIF has more frequent review, though. Every other chapter is a cumulative review/test, and at the start of every chapter is a refresher of the foundational skills for that unit.