Menu

WWS if we didn't love WWE (and only did less than one year of it)?

tammyw

I just had my daughter do the sample that I downloaded from WWS (Week one, day one), on creating a summary of what she read. I don't think it was a great summary, but I'm not going to judge her on that really. It did make me realize this is an area we should probably work on (she is decent at dictation, but we haven't done a lot of narration either, something I've been planning on adding in this year).

Can anyone tell me if this would be a good resource for me, to get summarizing and narration down in an easy and painless way? Are there other options? These two items aren't really built into The Arrow lessons we've been using, so I'm curious if anyone has advice to offer.

Thank you very much in advance. I realize I have a lot of questions lately. This happens to me about this time every year :)

I am not an expert in WWE as I have only done 1 year, but I have heard that it is important to start from the beginning as each level builds on the other. If you used levels higher than WWE 1 to start, she may not have the right foundation to continue into WWS. I think an older student can go faster through the beginning levels to catch up. Maybe someone else can chime in who has more experience.

I never used WWE with my kids but we did do narrations and summaries on our own. I used WWS when dd was in Gr.7 and it worked out just fine. DD really enjoyed it. I am intending on doing the same with ds this year as he will be in Gr.7 as well. From your sig line, I see that your dd is only 9. WWS might be a bit of a stretch for her. Couldn't you do narrations from the books that you are reading from The Arrow? If you did this for a year then she would probably be ready to do WWS.