Menu

Can you help me with math? Kids HATE TT.

teachingmy3

Hi Everyone-

I am new to the forum and I have my first question ready to go.

This year we used Teaching Textbooks (TT). My son (10/4th grade) used TT4. My daughter (8/2nd grade) used TT3. I also have a DD that is nearly 5 and doing Math U See K that we got free to review. I am not sure we like this either. Man, I am picky.

THEY HATED IT! When we began, they thought it was kind of fun to do math on the computer. I always sat with them while they did their lesson so that I could see what they were doing and identify any issues that might need more work.

But around Christmas time, they started to hate it. I don't know if they've truly learned anything. We won't be sticking with TT next year. I know many consider TT to be mastery but I disagree. I was a teacher and used several mastery programs that weren't as scattered as this.

My question is: where do I go from here? I am looking at Saxon. I want my kids to have a very solid foundation in math. And with my oldest entering 5th grade, I feel like my time is running out to build that foundation.

Thank you for any help you have about what worked for you. I am open to suggestions.

Heather

Welcome!

If you are looking for mastery, Saxon is not the way to go. My kids learn best with mastery and only lasted about a month with Saxon. Math Mammoth has worked great for us. It is mastery. We are using the Blue series, which may work well for you since it would not be tied to a grade level.

There are a few other things that have worked well for us to mix things up a bit (or help them better understand a concept).

1) Videos from Education Unboxed. They have not only helped my kids, but they have helped me better understand and teach math. And best of all, they are free!

2) Right Start math games. My kids learn so much from these games and they don't even know they are "learning"- to them it is just playing!